Words From My Heart

I Don’t Know how to Live Without You

lelu A.
8 min readAug 12, 2024
Photo by Waldemar on Unsplash

I want you to come home.

But you’re not allowed to even be around me by yourself, they say I’m awful, but I think in your heart you know it’s not true.

We used to do everything together, I was your everything and you were mine.

Since we’ve been apart, my heart beats on but it doesn’t sound the same.

I don’t know if it’s possible for a mother’s heart to sing its song, when her children have been taken from her arms.

You are at an age that is turbulent & often traumatizing, as your emotions swirl inside your head like a hurricane, you may need a mother’s love and I can’t be there even though I want to and am only ten minutes away.

I don’t know what questions are in your head, but if I could I would answer each and every one as best I could.

I am torn everyday between wanting to protect your innocence, but knowing too that you need to learn how to be someday on your own.

The day you arrived, you didn’t come with a manual or guide, but we sure figured out how to get along. Not only did we survive, we persevered.

I promised to love you and protect you and all you have to do, is be you! There will never be a day in which that…

--

--

lelu A.

A light in the dark, A shadow to hide in, embracing my inner duality, journeying to find peace and inner strength.